Chronicles of a UNILAG undergraduate III

Hey there,

Thanks for stopping by the blog πŸ™‚ I know that I’ve been AWOL for so long but hey, I’m back! For real I am, lol…with so much to talk about-the good and the bad. I’d start however by sharing the good news with you.

In my last post, I lamented about how stressful school was because I hadn’t secured accommodation on campus which meant me going from home on a daily basis (mehn, it wasn’t funny). Well, nowΒ IΒ stay on campus..yay! And honestly, life has just been easier… I also spoke about how much I needed a laptop to be more consistent with blogging and do school work too. I DID GET A LAPTOP! It happened in the most miraculous way as I never even envisaged getting it as a gift, I know it must have been God and I’m so grateful…You see something eh, this taught me a major lesson: JUST BELIEVE. I was so troubled with how I hadn’t posted anything new on the blog in so long, I didn’t realize I have a father full of wonders and voila you’re reading a new post. Is there something you’re so encumbered about? Is there something you’re almost giving up on? Just believe darling!

And the next good news I’m super exited to tell you about is that… we now have a brand logo! Yayyy!!! I’d rather call it a header or better still, picture but my brand manager (you know yourself..lol) put the words ‘brand logo’ in my mouth.

tallgirlsareawesome

There it is! What do you think about it? Feel free to let me know your thoughts in the comment box πŸ˜‰ . I considered coming up with this a big project ‘cos I wanted it to be just the way I imagined it and I hope you like it as much as I do *smiles* (I danced when I saw it…haha, that’s how excited I was)

Yet another good news! I got nominated for the Liebster award by the amazing Mfon (Yas! she’s from my stateΒ too) You should check out her blogΒ DaintyMΒ . It is in 2 words: Simply beautiful, just in case you find yourself stuck on it! The Liebster Award is a way of encouraging new bloggers.

liebster award

I call them ‘blogging freshmen’. A post on it is coming up soon where I’d be answering fun questions after which I’d also nominate other bloggers for the award, wait for it πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

Chronicles of a UNILAG undergraduate III

unilag chronicles

 

So guys, this is the third post in this series ‘Chronicles of a UNILAG undergraduate‘ and each time I’m excited to write about my experiences in the University of Lagos, the school of first choice and the Nation’s pride (lol…say what you may, nothing can change that).Β 

First off you guys, I did a HIV test.

Haha, first time ever. I was scared to death not that I thought I could be positive (God forbid..lol) but i didn’t even know what to think. I didn’t know what to expect. But hey, I did it! And no, it wasn’t positive :p . The lady who tested me emphasized on the need for one to know his/her HIV status because one misconception many people have is that it’s only through sex, NO. It could be through blood contact with someone who’s positive, etc. So please, get tested and know your HIV status. It’s normal to be scared but then the peace of mind you have afterwards can’t be explained.

There’s so much talent in the University of Lagos, amazing ones at that which is why in today’s post I’d be celebrating one of them! I suppose we’ve heard Rihanna’s ‘Work‘,Β Laolu aΒ friend of mine also dropped his own ‘Work’ cover and it is off the hook. ClickΒ hereΒ to listen. You’d love it! πŸ˜€

Yah, have I mentioned that I’ve gotten accommodation on campus? I think I have. It hasn’t been much of a new experience because I’ve stayed in hostels but this one I’m in just ticks all my boxes, it’s clean, very airy and big like there’s enough space too unlike previous hostels I stayed in.

And exams are fast approaching too! Starts April and ends May…but the bad news now is, we’re not certain when they start anymore*sobs* because,

UNIVERSITY OF LAGOS HAS BEEN SHUT DOWN!

Yes, it has. Maybe you heard about it, maybe you didn’t. Let me gist you!

What led to the shut down? Protests o…The supply of power and water deteriorated, it went from bad to worse. When UNILAG students could at some point boast of having power for at least 18 hours as at last week we couldn’t even boast of having power up to 12 hours a day! The University of Lagos Students’ Union (ULSU) decided to take it upon themselves to fight for the students’.

The protests started on Wednesday into Thursday. Thursday was literally the worst day of my life..lol. Everyone in my hall of residence was up by 5:30am to get water before it eventually stopped running. There was no power supply to prepare food to eat and that day being the day set aside for market environmental sanitation, shops and restaurants were not going to open till 10am. I thought that was the end, believe me. But no, that was just the beginning. There were no cabs to aid movements around to aid movement around campus so we had to trek… The protests had started! Shops opened and food was served in the smallest portions, I was so close to breaking down in tears..lol

The long and short of the story is that by Friday morning, the University management arrested the ULSU President and Public Relations Officer (PRO) (they were later released) and gave students in halls of residence 3 hours to prepare, pack your stuff and leave! It seemed like a dream, but it was not. Police vans patrolled the school. We’re not terrorists neither are we criminals. All we wanted was for the management to see our plight, have mercyΒ and intervene! Instead we were sent home, indefinitely!!!

By 10am, the University gates were shut. Students had to find any available means of escape and leave the school. Most people jumped over the gates, over the fence and even had to go through the canal. It was a horrible experience that was all over social media, even had the hashtag #Unilag on Twitter.

Photo credit: thenationonlineng.net

We however appeal to the University management to liaise with the Students’ Union and #reopenUnilag.

Wawuu…today’s post is long o *covers face*. Thank you so much for reading still! Till you stop by again,

Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β “The Lord is my light and my salvation-whom shall I fear? The Lord is Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  the refuge and stronghold of my life-of whom shall I be afraid?” Β  ~Psalm 27:1

Peace and love,

Aniee

 

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Esosa
    Apr 11, 2016 @ 13:45:57

    Beautiful write-up sweetheart, thumbs up, really you are a very good writer, I can’t seem to stop myself from smiling when I read the part about no food. lol anyway keep it up dear, nice work😘

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. tallgirlsareawesome
    Apr 11, 2016 @ 15:29:53

    Awww, thanks Esosa. I deeply appreciate your kindness!
    I knoww, me and food have this thing..lol

    Like

    Reply

  3. nicholas892
    Apr 14, 2016 @ 20:56:47

    Nyc one sweets I love you

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Ekemini
    Apr 21, 2016 @ 17:10:57

    Funny! I had good at the logo part of your write up..

    Eh! Did you unilag got to that point of initiating an arrest? Hmmmm. Crazy things happen. Dialogue will solve that issue wella..

    My dear..Keep enjoying school. And congrats on ur accommodation. That’s usually a pain-in-the -ass if you don’t have one..especially in UNILAG

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. TheShakaraGirl
    May 09, 2016 @ 16:35:18

    Lol. First time here and I enjoyed reading every bit. Keep it up. Please nominate me and I’ll really love to know more about the Leibster thing.

    TheShakaraGirl

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  6. sodiqismaila
    Aug 14, 2016 @ 12:29:48

    Good concept

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

