Chronicles of a UNILAG undergraduate

Hey there,

The much awaited 2016 is here and this is officially the first blog post of the year..yayy! Firstly, I’m thankful to everyone who joined me on this ride since August 2015, all the likes, comments and kind words that has continued to push me to doing even better. 2015 was good but 2016 can only be better! I have to apologize for not sending Christmas wishes to everyone but I trust that you enjoyed all of the festivities and Christmas was lit for you..(it was for mee..lol)

So from me to you,

Happy New Year

May every great new day

Bring you sweet surprises- A happiness buffet!

happy-new-year-wallpapers-2016

Do you also have your 2016 resolutions? I call mine assignment that is to be submitted on December 31st, 2016. All it takes is creating a well detailed and structured, articulated and written plan which you must be loyal and committed to fulfilling. Don’t forget whatever you set your mind to do, you can achieve!

You-can-do-it-BABY

I’m super excited as I write because this is the first post in the new series “Chronicles of a UNILAG undergraduate” and also ‘cos *clears throat*… I am officially an undergraduate of the University of Lagos. My matriculation ceremony took place a couple of weeks back and it was amazing- family, friends all came out to show love and I also can’t forget to thank everyone who sent in congratulatory messages..you are the best!

Pictures are on my Facebook page- Aniee Ufia. You can check ’em out!

You see how hot I looked that day? *in my head* “I knoww, thank you thank you”..LOL

Anyways, after the matric (which is matriculation ceremony for short) came the work load!! Not any small one but a major one.. I discovered I had to do year 1 courses as well as year 2 courses totaling 12 courses. Why? Well ‘cos I did a foundation programme which was synonymous to A levels but advanced..let me not bore you with the details! Another discovery was the cold war between DE (Direct entry) students like me and UTME students (those students who didn’t do the foundation programmme). Are you getting the gist?lol

Believe me but I thought cold wars only existed between countries but it does exist between students..where DE students sit at the right hand side of the class and UTME at the left and no one refuses to talk to the other!! Yess, it is that bad..I was furious initially but then why would I blame them? They barely know us and we barely know them so I thought why don’t we give it time? Time is a healer, everything only gets better with time…

So let’s say I have given time the chance to do its work and I also have a part to play too..letting go of all that ego and making friends! Life is short…

To be continued…

Please, don’t forget to leave your comments too; they let me know I’m trying..lol

Blessings,

Aniee

 

 

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tony Michele
    Jan 29, 2016 @ 10:50:40

    Haha. Now that’s interesting – the cold war part.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Dainty M
    Jan 29, 2016 @ 19:33:39

    Happy new year dear! Funny how I’ve been waiting for your post this year and I was so excited when I saw it today! πŸ˜€
    Lol @ cold war…are you for real? That’s crazy though. I’m glad you’re approaching this in a really mature way and soon you’ll tell us of the friends you’ve made πŸ™‚
    I nominted you for an award on my blog http://daintym.com/2016/01/17/liebster-awards/ check it out.
    God bless! ❀

    Like

    Reply

    • tallgirlsareawesome
      Feb 04, 2016 @ 10:33:18

      Why, thank you!
      I know right, no one talks to the other and everyone just minds their business..Thank you so much. That’s one of the things growing up requires of you…lol. I definitely would tell!
      Awww, I’m dancing right now..lol. Thanks so much! God bless you too..

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  3. Ekemini
    Jan 29, 2016 @ 22:00:38

    Congratulations on your matriculation. Bestwishes! Bags all the A’s.

    Cold war? It will always normalise. Enjoy while it lasts.
    Have fun.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Tennyolah
    Jan 30, 2016 @ 10:32:24

    Whoa whoa whoa whoa whoa we thank God for his grace, hey my banana syrup always always proud of you dear, that’s part of the fun in the university, just kip being the ur beautiful self kip on with the good work plenri love

    Like

    Reply

  5. mangsim
    Apr 04, 2016 @ 17:10:53

    Congratulations from an Akokite to another!

    Well, as a graduate of Unilag who came in through the Foundation programme too. I heard of such but we never experienced it in my department and much of this is due to the kind of class rep we had. She broke down that wall the first week we joined by assigning a new assistant course rep that came from DE and always ensured that any group work consisted of members from both DE and UTME.

    Personally, we learn over time to drop our egos since the first move had been made. I’d suggest you make the move and interact, there’s so much they can help you with that you might not know…

    Lovely blog layout ☺

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • tallgirlsareawesome
      Apr 07, 2016 @ 17:03:02

      Thanks so much!
      Oh wow, that’s good. Well, things are much better now. I’ve made friends with a couple of UTME students and yes, they’re helpful. I’m glad to know there’s someone who can totally relate..lol
      Thank you for stopping by the blog and commenting too!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

