Self control..it’s a virtue!

Hello. It’s me…

Reminded you of Adele right?lol.. everyone loves that song and I suppose I do too πŸ˜‰

How have you been? It’s been a while, I know I know and I’ve missed you too! I mentioned in a previous post that school registration was beginning soon and it did o..stressful it has been! It’s really taken its toll on me..thus today’s post!

One virtue I learnt during this period is self-control! I’m not a very patient person..nahh! I like things to happen fast, in my own way and if possible at my own time..lol but then I’ve learnt to control myself-particularly my emotions. I had to google the meaning of the word so I found this:

self-control
noun
  1. the ability to control oneself, in particular one’s emotions and desires, especially in difficult situations.
    Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β self control

Aha! …one’s emotions and desires, especially in difficult situations. There were some days I had been so stressed because of all the waka-waka from hall to bank to faculty and back to hall under the hottt sun that can boil yam and beans..lol.

E no funny o.

I would then get home and pour all the anger from hunger o, stress o ati gbo gbo e…on the person who comes to me first. This happened severally until I spoke to myself..yes ke, it was necessary! They were not the ones responsible for my being stressed out neither were they the ones who needed the school stuff to be done with. The best thing I told myself is..to exercise control! You may be angry or stressed or sad still, control yourself..put yourself in charge of your emotions and not the opposite!

self control the battle

The battle between oneself and one’s emotions..This is just the perfect illustration of what happens when you don’t let your emotions and desires take charge..but choose to control yourself!

So guess what? I prayed too.. πŸ™‚Β Yuup! I asked God to help me cos there’re so many things that cannot be handled by oneself..except He steps into the picture..

I’m still a Work-In-Progress, God’s not done with me yet..but I have to exercise the virtue of self-control! It’s also a fruit of the Spirit, the more reason you must possess it! Start work on yourself and ask God for help too..

Have a blessed weekend! πŸ˜€

Lots of chocolate,

Aniee

PS: Don’t hesitate to comment and share your thoughts/experiences if you’ve similar ones..that’s my oxygen πŸ˜‰

“…make every effort to add to your faith goodness; and to goodness, knowledge; and to knowledge, self-control; and to self-control, perseverance; and to perseverance, godliness; and to godliness, mutual affection; and to mutual affection, love.”

2 Peter 1:5-7

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Udoetuk Ekemini
    Dec 04, 2015 @ 01:00:00

    The Adele intro wouldn’t have been any better. Nice write. Keeping it Real & Original.
    Don’t wait too long before your next blog post.
    Cheers!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

